lighting tutorial -Maya

In class we were asked to create a scene which contained a table and a few different objects.

I created the table and the vases by using simple shapes such as the square and the cylinder shape and manipulating them in different ways using tools such as extrude to make them more complex. I then duplicated the vase and used the scale tool to add variation so that it looked like they were different kinds of vases.

I then added 3 point lights into the scene to bring depth to the objects and I played about with the intensity of each light and the positioning. finally I added the camera.

here is what my scene looked like before I rendered it…

lighting screenshot

I then took a render of what the scene looked like through the camera.

greylightingrender

finally I added some different textures onto the vases and the table to see how they would be effected in the light I used car paint, blinns and phongs.

colouredlightrender

 

overall I found this lesson to be okay it was a good reminder of how to get the extrude tool and where the texturing part was as I couldn’t remember before. overall I’m pretty pleased how it looks once it texture 🙂

Leave a comment