Modeling the Moss Rocks in Zbrush

The final texture I decided to model was some Mossy rocks. This is probably my favorite design out them all and is the one that worked out the best because at this point i had improved my Zbrush skills a lot from when i first began creating these textures.

Below is a series of photos showing my creation process

I first began masking off areas of rocks i wanted on the texture. This is so i could work on the larger rocks and rock floor separately. I started working on the rock floor first by building up with the clay build up and adding smaller details and rocks.

Moss z 1

I then focused on building up the rocks. I first extruded the rocks so that they were higher in depth than the rock floor. I then further built on them with the clay build up tool giving them all different levels of depth and detail.

Moss z 2

Further detail was added to the main larger rocks. More smaller rocks were pulled out from the rock floor as well.

Moss z 3

Finally i added the final touches to the smaller rocks and the rock floor. For the main rocks so they had a more natural shape i used the flatted brush to level them out and add small indents for uniqueness.

Moss z 4

Here is the final model that was created in ZBrush. This is will be the high poly model that will be used to bake onto the low poly tile in substance

moss zbrush

moss zbrush 2

Leave a comment